You Live On My Breath

You live on my breath,

don’t you, you little

bits of ash fall on my lap

and I dunno if you’re mocking me

or anticipating another ignition.

Because when alcohol’s in play,

you crave me most

and, christ, I’ve been drinkin’.

Though I want to tell you to

go away, I don’t care for you, just – fuck off…

you take my breath away

and make me crave you

at the most inappropriate times.

But when I spark the match

and see you latch

to its licking flame,

I realise,

you only care about dying anyway.

Leave a Reply

