Boy as Icarus

Where the cliff met sea in violent ecstasy,

I peaked the edge when curiosity

asked me to jump.

If only I could fly

I thought, then questioned

Why can’t I fly?

I thought, then questioned

why my eldest sister had wings,

being an angel in my father’s eyes,

and what leaps those wings could bring

if only they were not broken by her maker.

Us other five, nephilim giants,

walking earth forever for defiance

brought us off the divine path

where we might reach these wings

which bring such new land,

a goal, I’ve held so strong in hand

as a boy.

A boy you will never hear from again, unless

someone can write me as Icarus,

doomed in necessity of flight.

Leave a Reply

