The Lack-wit Poet

Reading a lot of verse
full of wit – it hits me:

I’m not the slightest bit funny.
In fact, I’m miserable – and that’s worse.

I love the words I can laugh at
or cringe at the poet’s fate.

I mean, yeah, the best term for ‘late’
I came up with from a day was

‘period-late’. What’s funny about that?
(Don’t worry, you might not be pregnant –
you might even be male)

My writing itself may be laughable
for all I know,

and if you think so,
delude me with ‘likes’,

become a follower.
I’ll keep on writing

and have you laughing forever.
My metaphors may even get shitter.

Leave a Reply

