Prelude & Boy as Icarus

Prelude to Boy as Icarus

 

He was an artist.

Painted murals around

a school that no longer exists

as a building.

 

She cared, to say the least

and when it came to, she leased

‘a part of me and a part of him in you’

she’d say with actions which could speak

when he left for another land.

 

This is just background,

for memory is memory upon memory upon

knowing what we’ve gone through and

who the hell am I to think you should

feel, see, hear, smell, taste

my experience?

 

It’s fine if rhyme rhymes with rhyme

if it’s right in a solipsistic mind:

so let’s get to the poem proper.

 

 

Boy as Icarus

 

Where the cliff met sea in violent ecstasy,

I peaked the edge when curiosity

asked me to jump.

If only I could fly

I thought, then questioned

Why can’t I fly?

I thought, then questioned

why my eldest sister had wings,

being an angel in my father’s eyes,

and what leaps those wings could bring

if only they were not broken by her maker.

 

Us other five, nephilim giants,

walking earth forever for defiance

brought us off the divine path

where we might reach these wings

which bring such new land,

a goal, I’ve held so strong in hand

 

as a boy.

 

A boy you will never hear from again, unless

someone can write me as Icarus,

doomed in necessity of flight.

Leave a Reply

